Compare courses, published costs and what’s included — at home or across the world.
Flying is an international career
Don’t just apply to the airline at your nearest airport.
“As an international airline pilot, you can live anywhere. I was born in Australia, yet my career has taken me all around the world — and some of the best experiences were flying for airlines I didn’t even know existed.”
— Captain Chris Pohl
Chris has flown for airlines in
United Kingdom
Switzerland
Holland
Cyprus
France
Sri Lanka
This directory covers training in 22 countries. Where you train can be part of your story — but check licence conversion and work rights for wherever you want to fly.
Captain Chris’s personal recommendation
Sling Pilot Academy
“Sling is a great example of where to learn to fly. Their structured zero-to-hero course is one of the most reasonably priced courses I know of.”
— Captain Chris Pohl · Personal opinion, not a lowest-price guarantee
Chris completed his own Australian course in nine months. Sling’s current published zero-time programme plans for 12 months. Its nine-month route starts with a Private Pilot Certificate and at least 80 hours total time — it is not the same starting point.
Published zero-time tuition is USD 102,995 in San Diego or USD 105,995 in Los Angeles. Test and examiner fees and some equipment are additional. Planned completion times can vary.
Source: Sling’s international-student programme page, checked 29 Oct 2026.
Before you compare
Integrated or modular? The ways to learn to fly
In the UK and Europe, integrated and modular routes lead to the same commercial licence — the difference is how you get there. In the USA and some other countries, training is usually organised by licence and rating rather than these labels, but the same idea applies: an all-in-one programme, or step by step.
Integrated
Full-time, one school, zero to airline-ready
One structured, full-time course of ground school and flying at a single approved school, from no experience to a commercial licence with instrument rating and “frozen” ATPL theory.
Continuity of training, a fixed timetable and one point of responsibility — European examples in this directory run from about 14 to 22 months.
Usually the most expensive option, paid in large stages. Most are “minimum hours” courses, so extra training or retests can cost more.
Suits: People who can commit full-time and fund the course up front.
Modular
Step by step, at your own pace
You build licences and ratings one module at a time — usually private licence, hour building, ATPL theory, commercial licence, instrument rating, then multi-crew training.
You can train part-time, keep working, pay as you go and choose different schools for each stage.
Often cheaper overall, but it takes more planning and self-discipline, and total time and cost depend on your choices.
Suits: People who need to earn while they learn, or want to test the water first.
Cadet / MPL
Training linked to a specific airline
Some airlines run cadet programmes with partner schools, including the Multi-crew Pilot Licence (MPL), which trains you for that operator’s cockpit from the start.
Places are competitive and selection-based; terms, funding and any job conditions vary by programme.
An MPL carries restrictions until you meet further requirements, so read the terms carefully.
Suits: People who pass selection and are happy to tie early career to one operator.
Captain Chris says
With an integrated school, you pay your money up front, and within the allotted time period you should be qualified. Modular can take much longer — even years — and you have to be careful that exams don’t expire during the time you’re doing the course.
Modular can be cheaper because you’re paying as you go, but long-term it may become more expensive because of continuity. When you’re flying and involved in aviation every single day, you tend to get through on the minimum flying hours — or the hours projected for your course. Doing it modular, you need to relearn parts of your training because you’re not flying consistently, and that can run to extra training and extra costs.
If you can get the money, I would always say go integrated. But if your lifestyle and circumstances don’t allow that, modular is the way to go — and the best way to do modular is in chunks, to minimise the lack of consistency.
Flight and simulator training, ground school, training materials and the school’s ATP Advantage benefits.
Duration
Full-time; timeline depends on starting point
Check before booking
FAA examiner/knowledge-test fees (school estimates about USD 12,000), iPad apps and some training-centre premiums are extra. Housing and airline type ratings not included.
Published fixed tuition; cost page updated 28 Oct 2026; tax not stated
Training & package
Flight and simulator training, ground school and materials through commercial and flight instructor certificates.
Duration
9 months
Check before booking
Excludes FAA test and examiner fees (school estimates about USD 12,000), iPad, headset and apps. Fuel surcharges may apply. Time-building to airline minimums follows separately.
Integrated ground and flight training toward a frozen EASA ATPL, including multi-engine/instrument training, UPRT and MCC.
Duration
18–22 months
Check before booking
Vilnius-based company, but this course is trained in Spain. Excludes assessment, Class 1 medical, English certificate, CAA exams, accommodation and living costs; type rating is optional extra.
Published price, undated; VAT not stated (UK route listed at EUR 73,990 with conditions)
Training & package
880h theory, 230h flight/simulator training, A-UPRT, APS MCC, extra hours where required, uniform and training materials.
Duration
18–24 months
Check before booking
Excludes entry assessment, ATPL exams, English exam, skill tests, licence fees, medical, accommodation and travel. Boeing 737 type rating is under a separate Ryanair agreement.
London Gatwick (theory); flying in the US and/or Europe, United Kingdom
Integrated ATPL
GBP 99,900
Published brochure price, April 2024; VAT treatment not stated
Training & package
ATPL theory and exams, flight training, CPL and ME IR skill tests, A-UPRT, APS MCC, uniform, airside pass and DBS check; resits per CAE's First Officer Quality Insurance.
Price dated April 2024 — ask CAE for a current quote. Excludes travel, accommodation and living costs, iPad and headset, medicals, insurance, US visa fees and selection testing (about GBP 260).
Published price, offers valid from July 2026; 0% VAT on education
Training & package
Theory and materials, all 13 ATPL exams, 152h flying + 80h simulator, night, multi-engine/instrument, A-UPRT, A320 APS MCC, first-attempt test flights and examiner fees.
Duration
18–20 months
Check before booking
Excludes licence issue, medical, English exam, extra flying, travel and accommodation. EUR 1,190 extra for non-EU visa applicants. Prices may change.
Private, instrument and commercial single-engine training. Listed total includes non-tuition expenses and a $4,500 fast-track discount; tuition portion is $84,002.51.
Duration
Confirm schedule directly with the school
Check before booking
Estimate from the 31 Aug 2026 price sheet, not a fixed quote. Actual cost varies with proficiency. Confirm discount eligibility and any living, travel or additional training costs.
Published self-sponsored fee for starts from 1 Jan 2026
Training & package
Ground and flying syllabus, UPRT, MCC, full-board accommodation for 62 training weeks, first exam attempts, materials, uniform and landing/navigation fees.
Duration
62 training weeks
Check before booking
Extra training and exam retakes charged separately. Confirm initial medical, selection and travel costs.
Published minimum price, undated; excludes UAE VAT
Training & package
Books, 840h theory, about 192h flight/simulator training, MCC, four uniform sets, one GCAA exam attempt per subject.
Duration
About 98 weeks
Check before booking
Minimum rate that may rise with progress. Excludes medical, licence application, skill-test flying, English test, examiners, resits and extra training.
40 hours flight training, 100 Lydd landings, 5 other-airfield landings, briefings, 9 ground examinations, listed starter kit and membership for the pack duration.
Duration
Individual pace; six-month price guarantee
Check before booking
Prepaid and non-refundable; price fixed for six months from commencement. Medical and CAA skills-test examiner fees excluded. Additional training may be needed.
Published estimate, information pack revised 6 Mar 2025; excludes 15% VAT
Training & package
30h dual, 15h solo, 4h checks and flight test, ground school, 8 exams, PPL kit (no headset), estimated licensing fees, radio theory, landing fees and fuel.
Duration
Not estimated by the school
Check before booking
Excludes VAT, accommodation, headset, excess insurance, medical, English proficiency and radio practical. Pack contains some inconsistencies — get a written quote (valid 30 days).
Published estimate (registration + tuition + advanced single-engine rating), 2026 intake; VAT not stated
Training & package
Study materials, 85h pilot-in-command flying on PA28-161 incl. night and cross-country, CAA fees, CPL exams, examiner fees and advanced single-engine rating.
Duration
Not stated
Check before booking
Requires a valid PPL first — not from zero. Medical, accommodation and any extra hours needed to meet CPL requirements are not clearly priced.
Accelerated Airline Pilot Program — from Private + 80 hours
USD 79,995
Published tuition — San Diego, existing private pilots
Training & package
Entry requires a Private Pilot Certificate and 80 hours total time. Continuing FAA instrument and commercial training; confirm included instructor courses with the school.
Duration
Planned 9 months, full-time weekdays
Check before booking
Not a zero-time course. FAA knowledge tests, examiner/checkride fees and some required equipment excluded. Prior private training is not included in this price; duration varies.
Structured FAA training from zero: private, instrument and commercial single- and multi-engine courses. Page also lists instructor training; confirm exact bundle when enrolling.
Duration
Planned 12 months, full-time weekdays
Check before booking
FAA knowledge tests, examiner/checkride fees and some required equipment excluded. Confirm accommodation, insurance and international-student costs. Timeline varies with progress and availability.
Structured FAA private, instrument and commercial single- and multi-engine training. Los Angeles surcharge includes KTOA/KSMO landing fees during course hours; confirm instructor-training bundle.
Duration
Planned 12 months, full-time weekdays
Check before booking
FAA knowledge tests, examiner/checkride fees and some required equipment excluded. Living and other costs need a separate quote. Completion time is not guaranteed.
Published estimated grand total, April 2026 quotation
Training & package
Lists dual and solo training hours, flight-test hours, briefings, ground evaluation, PPL kit (no headset) and theory/radio exams.
Duration
Calendar duration not published
Check before booking
Medical, English assessment, radio licence, CAA fees, ground lectures and excess insurance are extra. The hour breakdown doesn’t match the 45-hour requirement in the same document — confirm a final quote.
Nothing beats hearing from pilots who've trained at a school. Reviews are personal opinions from members, not checked by Cockpit Club — always visit and ask questions yourself.
Trained at one of these schools? Sign in to share your experience. Members must be 18+.
Your first licence can be the beginning, not the boundary.
“I learned to fly in Australia, converted my licence to a UK licence, and have held licences from around the world. Don’t limit your ambitions to the airport nearest home.” — Captain Chris
FAA training and overseas flying
Sling trains towards FAA certificates and ratings. These can be a starting point for an international career, but they do not automatically authorise flying or working throughout North America, South America, the Middle East or elsewhere. Requirements depend on the country, aircraft registration and operation. Check local validation or conversion rules and work eligibility before making plans.
Moving to the UK or Europe
Existing training and experience may receive credit, but conversion is not automatic or necessarily simple. UK CAA or EASA-system requirements can include theory exams, skill tests, medical certification, licence verification and further training. The exact route depends on your licence and experience; in the EASA system, contact the relevant member state’s licensing authority.
“One day, you may be sitting in an airline interview. Your licence matters — but the story shouldn’t stop at signing up, paying for a course and passing. What have you experienced? What have you learned? What shows your determination, dedication and resilience?”
Learn beyond home
Training abroad and navigating a licence conversion can give you genuine examples of adapting to unfamiliar environments and working through challenges. Talk about what the experience taught you, not just where you went.
Broaden your flying
General aviation, new aircraft and different operating environments can deepen your judgement. Floatplane flying in Canada is one example Chris suggests exploring — with the right training, permissions and a realistic budget.
Make a contribution
Humanitarian aviation supporting medical work, such as Médecins Sans Frontières’ missions in Africa, is another area to research. These operations may use specialist aviation providers; do not assume MSF directly offers pilot jobs or placements. Relevant experience, local permissions and eligibility matter.
You don’t need expensive overseas adventures to have a meaningful story. Local flying, responsibility and steady progress count too. Use honest examples of decisions, teamwork and lessons learned — none of these experiences guarantees an airline job.